Research Innovation Award

To honor some of our most influential research partners, we established the following award:

The Dr. Pankaj Parekh Research Innovation Award honors researchers and research teams who have made significant contributions to advancing the science of water through research sponsored by The Water Research Foundation. The award is named after Dr. Parekh, who dedicated his life to ensuring safe drinking water and protecting public health.

Nominations are no longer being accepted. 

Water faucet with running water

2019 Awardee

  • Dr. Karl Linden

    Dr. Linden has served as a Principal Investigator on WRF research projects for over 20 years, including several significant ultraviolet (UV) disinfection-related projects. Most recently, he led a team that developed action spectra correction factors for UV inactivation of Cryptosporidium and other pathogens. He has also served as a Project Advisory Committee member on diverse project topics. He has demonstrated research innovation and knowledge that can be applied by utilities and other end users to protect public health.


    Winning this award is a recognition of all the people I’ve worked with, and the innovative research we’ve done together—a lot of it thanks to support from The Water Research Foundation. Having the award named after Dr. Parekh is very meaningful to me because I worked with him on a few UV research projects. Receiving this award is a real honor.
    Dr. Karl Linden
    Mortenson Professor in Sustainable Development
    University of Colorado Boulder


Past Recipients

  • 2018

    George Di Giovanni
    Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

  • 2017

    Stuart Krasner
    Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

  • 2016

    Bob Raucher
    Abt Associates

  • 2015

    Shane Snyder
    University of Arizona

  • 2014

    Issam N. Najm
    Water Quality & Treatment Solutions, Inc

  • 2013

    Mark LeChevallier
    American Water

  • 2012

    Jennifer Clancy
    Corona Environmental Consulting